Gwobrau Cyntaf Aber First Awards 2017

Applications are now open for this year’s Gwobrau Cyntaf Aber First Awards.

The Awards are designed to acknowledge best practice and excellence displayed by organisations and businesses in the Menter Aberystwyth area. 

You can make a self-application telling us why you should be considered for your chosen award category and 3 of your customers/clients will also need to tell us why you deserve the award. If you decide to apply, entries should be e-mailed to or posted to Menter Aberystwyth, Penbryn, Aberystwyth University, Aberystwyth, SY23 3BY. Please ask the customers/clients supporting you to do the same.

You, and your supporters, will need to state, in no more than 500 words, why you should be considered for an award. Photographs may be added to support the claim and please tell us when your business/organisation was founded and how many staff work with you. There is no formal application form. Applications can be made in more than one category but please identify the category clearly.

Deadline for receipt of all applications is midday on Tuesday 16th May 2017.

There are ten award categories for the 2017 Awards and they are:

  1. Young Entrepreneurship Award: Young Entrepreneur of the Year (under 30)
    Open to all types of businesses in this age range.
  2. Customer Service Award: Outstanding levels of Customer Service and Satisfaction.
    Open to all types of businesses.
  3. Hospitality Award: The Best Aber Welcome
    Open to all accommodation providers, restaurants and cafés.
  4. Green Award: How Green is Your Business?
    Open to all types of businesses.
  5. Retail Award: The Best Shopping Experience.
    Open to all retail businesses.
  6. Social Enterprise Award: Making Life Better
    Open to individuals, groups and 3rd sector organisations.
  7. Wedding Bells Award: Making It Their Best Day
    Open to all involved in wedding supply.
  8. Welsh Language Award: Keeping the Language Alive in Business
    Open to all types of businesses.
  9. Aberystwyth Arts Award: Recognising the Arts of Aberystwyth
    Open to individuals and groups using visual or performing arts.
  10. Social Media Award: The Best On-Line Experience
    Open to all types of businesses.

All winners will be automatically considered for the Business of the Year Award which will be presented to the overall winner.

Please note that those shortlisted by the judges may be visited by mystery shoppers and/or contacted as appropriate. The Judging Panel will consist of 3 judges from the business community and the Town Council plus one extra judge per category from the sponsor of that category.